UPDATE: A rules interaction we had not considered affects how this deck plays. Because you cannot resolve a die more than once in the same action, you cannot use Fifth Brother’s special on an upgrade die and resolve that die in the same action. Additionally, you cannot use two Fifth Brother specials on the same die in the same action. This breaks up the All In play, and leaves the deck open to mitigation. Though Fifth Brother’s special still has a high upside, this likely pushes the deck out of any consideration for Tier 1 status.
We will leave the rest of the article up as a token to the importance of carefully considering rules interactions before publicly talking up a deck ;).
It’s early in the Way of the Force meta, and we have been exploring decks like crazy. One of the decks that has come up recently as a contender is Fifth Brother / Snoke, a deck with which Jon won a recent store championship (decklist found here). Today, we’re going to take some time to explain the theory behind the deck, why it works, and why we think it might be a contender for Tier 1 status. At the end, Jon answers the question we know you’re already asking: isn’t Kylo2 just better than Fifth Brother?
Read More →